Education

Each of the Institute’s founding members has expertise and experience in formal, non-formal and informal education (read as: education and training) The Institute’s vision on education can best be illustrated in these few paragraphs by one the founding members:

With sustainable development it’s usually always about ‘wicked problems’, complex problems whereby many stakeholders, often with opposing interests, are involved and where there is talk of uncertainty. It is about the interaction between ecological, geological, economic, political, social and cultural systems, and about interaction between scale levels locally and globally, and the interaction between various social and cultural perspectives. These demand a transitional process, ground-breaking, new solutions and fundamental changes in the fields of technology and institutional and social arrangements. Incremental optimisation within the existing frameworks is not enough. It requires lots of new knowledge and a ‘lifetime of learning’ for everyone….

Education for sustainable development means education where attention is given to sustainable development. This type of education is very important for the process of raising awareness that we will all need to learn to keep the Earth liveable. Education for sustainable development means education that is not only focused on that awareness but also on evolving individual talents so that contributions can be made to sustainable development based on personal talents and specialisms.

Cited and translated from ...

Van Dam-Mieras R., (2012), Educatie voor duurzame ontwikkeling [Education for sustainable development], pp. 147-164 in Mazijn B. en Gouzée N., (2012), De samenleving in beweging. België op weg naar duurzame ontwikkeling? [The society in motion. Belgium towards sustainable development?] ASP Editions, Brussel, 2012, 208 pp.

Education

Chacun des membres fondateurs dispose d'expertise et d'expérience en ce qui concerne l'éducation formelle, non formelle et informelle (voir Éducation et Formation). La vision de l'Institut sur l'éducation est très bien illustrée au travers de quelques paragraphes de l'un des membres fondateurs:

"Le développement durable concerne presque toujours des « wicked problems », des problèmes complexes dans lesquels sont impliquées de nombreuses parties prenantes aux intérêts souvent opposés et dans lesquels il est question d’incertitude. Il s’agit d’interactions entre des systèmes écologiques, géologiques, économiques, politiques, sociaux et culturels, d’interactions entre des niveaux d’échelle allant du local au mondial et d’interactions entre différentes perspectives socioculturelles. … Pour y parvenir, il est nécessaire d’instaurer un processus de transition, de trouver de nouvelles solutions et d’apporter des changements fondamentaux dans des domaines technologiques, institutionnels et sociaux. Une optimisation incrémentielle dans les cadres existants ne suffit pas. Cet aspect requiert l’acquisition d’un grand nombre de nouvelles connaissances et s’assimile à un processus d’apprentissage de toute une vie pour chacun."

"Éducation en matière de développement durable signifie une éducation qui accorde une attention toute particulière au développement durable. Ce type d’éducation est très important pour le processus de conscientisation du fait que nous allons devoir apprendre ensemble à maintenir la terre vivable. « Éducation au service du développement durable » signifie une éducation qui ne se concentre pas seulement sur cette prise de conscience, mais aussi sur le développement et le déploiement du talent individuel pour que le talent et la spécialisation de chacun puissent contribuer au développement durable."

 Cité de ...

Van Dam-Mieras R., (2012), L'éducation au service de développement durable, pp. 147-164 dans Mazijn B. et Gouzée N., (2012), La société en mouvement. Belgique sur une voie de développement durable? ASP Editions, Bruxelles, 2012, 208 pp.